Soir de Paris

Familiar and yet suddenly strange.
Silence lived now in the rooms which you recently filled with life.
Unusually cold and empty was it now in your former home.

We siblings had come to dissolve what remained of your beloved life and it was the hardest thing we ever had to do.

Hour after hour took our trip down memory lane.
Eventually I found it in your bedroom. A filigreed blue flacon with your favorite perfume – Soir de Paris. The only one you’ve ever used all your life.

Carefully I opened the small bottle with its no longer exactly 14.5 ml, breathing in the so familiar scent. I closed my eyes and for a moment it all came back, like years ago. I heard your voice and your laughter and they were back again.

All those carefree childhood memories of days full of love, happiness and laughter
Memories from a time when the dark shadows had not stretched out their claws to us.

My hands trembled as I shut the bottle again. Tears ran down my cheeks but I did not care, because I met with full force the bitter realization that what remains of you are not only the material remnants of your life being lived.

No, what really remains, buried deep in my heart and in my soul, is primarily an insatiable longing for your unconditional love, Mama.

© The Storyteller’s Garden

About The Storyteller's Garden

Creature of the night ₪ ø ιιι ·o.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Post a new comment

