Genesis

The exciting and interesting thing about the birth of new stories is that each new story has its very own history, their own ‘Making of’ so to speak.

As some of you know, I’m a big fan of ‘Making of’s’.
Whenever a film catches my serious interest and I get the chance; I watch the ’Making of’ to learn more about the history of the project.

It’s so great to see how an idea came to live and to learn what all the people who had been involved thought about the projects and their own parts in them. You truly get a better understanding and a lot more respect for the hard work on film projects, I can tell ya.

I found myself often re-watching a movie, but with different eyes after I saw all the specials and knew more about the background story.

Perhaps all this stated already when I was a child and drove my mother crazy with all the questions I had every day. And as it seems, I haven’t lost my intellectual curiosity over time.

Au contraire! In the majority of cases I end up with more questions than I had when I began to research about a topic which caught my interest. To be honest, I truly love it, because it’s part of the process to create something new.

It’s funny how most of the time no history of a story comes close to resembling another.
Maybe this is because creative people usually get inspired by almost everything or everyone when the time is right.

For example, let’s take a closer look at the history of the story I’ve actually written – Homo homini lupo…

The idea for this story fell into my lap out of the blue.
But first I have to go back to the previous history because I don’t believe in fortuities. But I do believe that everything comes to us when the time is right and we are ready.

Last year I happened to stumble by chance over this amazing BBC science-fiction drama series called ‘Torchwood’.

For those of you who don’t know the series let me quote BBC One: “Torchwood is a team of people whose job is to investigate the unusual, the strange and the extraterrestrial.”

Unfortunately I had missed most of the episodes when they were broadcasted on TV. Last week I had a conversation with an acquaintance of mine and for some reason we suddenly talked about Torchwood. It turned out that she owns all German DVDs and she was so kind to borrow them to me. So I started to watch them every now and then when I had the time.

While I watched another episode on Tuesday evening when I had my supper, a password which was mentioned caught my interest – Rhea Silva, the lover of the ancient God Mars.
I stopped the DVD straightway, put aside my food, and grabbed my notebook and googled the name.

Even as I read the info, a film started to run in my inner cinema and a new storyline was creating itself. So I gave up all the plans I had for the evening and began to write the story in one go all night long. It was like the story flew on its own.

Like I said before, I don’t believe in fortuities.

It was strange, because for the first time I didn’t felt the need to rewrite something in the story. Normally I’m rarely satisfied with a first draft and change a lot each time I read my written text again. Not so this time. I wrote the story, corrected the misspelling and translated it, so I could post it here. I even forgot to drink something during the night.

But that’s normal for me. I’m used to it, because when I’m working on something, I’m mostly so into a story that I block out everything else. I guess most of the creative people will know what I’m talking about. You simply can’t help yourself.

About The Storyteller's Garden

Creature of the night ₪ ø ιιι ·o.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Post a new comment

