Christmas Special: I carry your name on Christmas Eve to Bethlehem

According to the biblical understanding the person, which bears that name, is present in a name.

In the fifth year now offer the Benedictine monks from the Dormition Abbey in Jerusalem a wonderful Christmas Special, which is called Ich trage Deinen Namen in der Heiligen Nacht nach Bethlehem’ (=  I carry your name on Christmas Eve to Bethlehem).

Until Thursday 22 December 2011 the monks will collect the names and write them down onto a large scroll. On their herdsmen walk on Christmas Eve to Bethlehem they’ll carry this scroll to the Church of the Nativity, where they’ll lay it down on the star in the Grotto of the Nativity.

It was in 2008 when I first heard about this amazing service by the monks; due to our local radio station Antenne Düsseldorf and I loved this idea right from the start, because it felt like something truly mythical to me.

So I gave some names of people who were dear to me, for the very first time to the monks in December 2008 and became a part of something magical.

And yes, I still do it every year since then. Of course I support the monks with a donation as well.

Besides the names of people who are especially close to my heart; I’ve also put the names of the three members of my favorite band on my list every year since the beginning in 2008.

Therefore it was an unbelievable joy for me when Jared, Shannon and Tomo finally got the chance to visit the Holy Land when they played their very first show 2010 in Tel Aviv. And to be honest; it gave me goose-bumps when I learned that they had also visited the Church of the Nativity, that special place where their names already had been carried to in the years 2008 and 2009.

If you want to know more about the monks and the Dormition Abbey in Jerusalem you can visit their website on http://www.dormitio.net/english/index.html , or you can contact them via: http://www.dormitio.net/english/en.info/en.contact/index.html

 

© The Storyteller’s Garden

About The Storyteller's Garden

Creature of the night ₪ ø ιιι ·o.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Post a new comment

