Beautiful people are invisible

That one scene* from the movie  Elegy won’t go out of my head. Again and again I find myself as it comes back to my mind in the most unexpected moments.

As happened last Saturday when I saw a beautiful Argentine female singer, who was singing a song from her homeland full of devotion and passion. For a moment I was fascinated by her breathtaking beauty while in the next moment a barely noticeable
sorrow dart through her eyes and for a fraction of a second she revealed her soul to me without knowing it.

Of course I am aware that it was somewhat very precious which had happened at that moment and it reminded me of something similar that had happened once before to me years ago, in Berlin.

Don’t know if I have a special gift to see immediately behind the beautiful facade of the people, or if I just look closer.

Everything I know is, I am not blinded by the supposedly beautiful appearance, but I always sense a little more than it seems to be recognizable at first sight.

Something which sometimes arouses enough interest in me to want to learn more about a person. In very rare cases my first curiosity leads me, by a devious route, to someone who succeed to touch me in such a way I never expected.

Frankly I find it very sad that people are often so superficially, that they only have eyes for the obvious and no focus on the essentials, because so they are missing the chance to discover something really valuable.

But as the fox said in Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s wonderful tale ‘The Little Prince’ – “One sees clearly only with the heart. What is essential is invisible to the eye.”

* The scene I mean:

George O’Hearn: Beautiful women are invisible.
David Kepesh: Invisible? What the hell does that mean?
Invisible? They jump out at you. A beautiful woman, she stands out. She stands
apart. You can’t miss her.
George O’Hearn: But we never actually see the person. We see
the beautiful shell. We’re blocked by the beauty barrier. Yeah, we’re so
dazzled by the outside that we never make it inside.

Source of the quotes: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0974554/

© The Storyteller’s Garden

About The Storyteller's Garden

Creature of the night ₪ ø ιιι ·o.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beautiful people are invisible

  1. It’s not the slim body or the voice, the look, the appearance or the taste that makes someone sexy. It’s the personailty.
    (okay, in certain situation it may be the taste and certain other things ;))

Post a new comment

