Alexander the Great and the Butterfly Effect

Or how the life of the legendary conqueror even today is still beating waves

Do you know the butterfly effect?
No?

Well, it’s actually a very easy-to-explain phenomenon.
It is basically about the ancient principle of cause and effect.

In other words, if a particular event or a specific decision that is made leads to the result that for example in the long run a whole life will change unpredictably, it is referred to as the butterfly effect.

On this subject much has been written, even movies have been made about it – good and bad ones.

As I’ve told you lately on my blog “Time to remember…” to me the best film about the Butterfly Effect is “Mr. Nobody” by Belgian writer-director Jaco Van Dormael.

Like I also mentioned; “Mr. Nobody” is a film that makes you question yourself and your actions. A film, which brings you to look at everything from other perspectives and in a different light.

Reads in my personal case, I became aware that a Butterfly Effect has changed my life in a much sustained way.

Now you, dear readers, might ask: what the fuck has Alexander the Great to do with it, right?

Well, there is a very simple explanation.

If Alexander the Great had never lived, over two thousand three hundred years later a little boy named Oliver Stone would have not been that much interested and excited about his fascinating life story. And as a grown man, at a time when he was already a renowned director in Hollywood he wouldn’t have decided to make a film about the life of the famous Macedonian king, who was one of the greatest conquerors in world history.

If Oliver Stone’s unique epic “Alexander” would have never seen the light of day, after ten years of intense and loving preparation I, who has been fascinated by the charismatic ruler, as well since my childhood, would have never watched this film on 23 September 2007.

I would have never asked myself which actor by the side of the Irish lead actor, Colin Farrell, scintillated to such an extent as his beloved companion Hephaestion, that he drew my attention.

Would have said actor not awakened my interest that much, that I tried to satisfy my thirst for knowledge about him by using the Internet Movie Data Base, I would have not googled and probably never found out what an enormous multi-talent was hidden behind the, to me at that time unknown name.

I would never have discovered “From Yesterday”, this stunning short film with soundtrack and my life certainly would have been completely different during the past years.

As it was the creator of this and other short films became my muse, without knowing it. He became an almost inexhaustible source of inspiration for my own creativity, which had led up to this point a rather shadowy existence in my life.

By his example, I’ve learned that one should follow his dreams, no matter what happens. I’ve learned not to regret anything, because in the end it makes us who we are. I have found the Argus Apocraphex.

Fascinating, that all this and so much more happened because once a great Macedonian king, named Alexander followed his dream of a united world, which made him one of the greatest conquerors in world. And because we both, said artist and I shared an interest in this ruler and his history many thousands of years later.

So much for the Butterfly Effect…

To be honest, why I entered this day (23 September 2007) in my calendar back then is still a mystery to me.

But, wherever it may lead – I’m willing to follow the path of a dreamer!

₪ ø ιιι ·o. Provehito in Altum  ₪ ø ιιι ·o.

© Copyright The Storyteller’s Garden

₪ ø ιιι ·o.

Note: Just for when some of the German-speaking readers might wonder; yes in addition to the recently added text I have translated the same-titled article I wrote last year for “Opinio” and separated it into this text and “Time to remember”. 😉

The original: http://www.rp-online.de/hps/client/opinio/public/pjsub/production_long.hbs?hxmain_object_id=PJSUB::ARTICLE::653933&hxmain_category=::pjsub::opinio::/kunst_kultur

About The Storyteller's Garden

Creature of the night ₪ ø ιιι ·o.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Post a new comment

